San Dieguito Union High School District Logo


The San Dieguito Union High School District English Learner Program is an organized, content-based, culturally sensitive program of instruction in which participating students designated as English Learners (primary language other than English) receive English-as-a-Second Language courses and specially designed academic instruction in courses required for graduation

All instruction is in English. Students are provided with a literature and writing-based English-as-a-Second Language program. In addition, content area classes such as Math, Science, and Social Studies are taught in English using specialized techniques to provide equal access to the core curriculum. Whenever necessary, the primary language is used to support academic skills and bridge the way to second language learning.


The mission of the SDUHSD English Learner Program is to provide EL students with rigorous curriculum and appropriate support services, which will develop academic English language skills. Our teachers will utilize effective strategies, validate the native language and culture of all students, and work to create leadership roles for English Language Learners. The English Learner Program will involve the entire SDUHSD learning community in its vision.


The San Dieguito English Learner Program’s purpose is to prepare and educate second language students--for their benefit and that of society—to advance social justice in our democracy.


SDUHSD English Learner Program will produce students who are critical thinkers, able to articulate and synthesize their thoughts, opinions, and ideas while drawing upon bicultural experiences and perspectives in order to be successful beyond secondary education.


District Office Staff

Veronica Cortez EL Bilingual Secretary
Manuel Zapata EL Director
Site Staff
Site EL Lead AP in charge of ELD EL Counselor
CVMS Shannon Meredith Chuck Adams Karen Infantino
DNO Alexis HIllenbrand Miriam Tullgren Laura Martin
EWMS Kaitlin Wood Kaitlin Wood Jessica Craven
OCMS Mariah Weibel Katie Friedrichs Michelle McNeff
PTMS Patricia Storey Patricia Storey Lisa Curry
CCA Lara Rhoads Garry Thornton
SDA Laura Bennett Celeste Barnette Vicki deJesus
TPHS Joanne Serrano Michael Santos Toni Zurcher
LCC Lizzy McNally Leo Fletes Melissa Hernandez-Cyr
Sunset Sara Balderas Rick Ayala Sara Balderas

Top of Page

English Language Advisory Committee (ELAC)
Agenda Minutes